Beauty Busting: L’Oreal Infallible Pro-Matte Foundation 

Cos7941_1-Infallible-Pro-Matte-Foundation-Classic-Ivory

Claim:

This is a “Demi-Matte”, “Air-Light” foundation. It should have medium coverage and last 24 hours.

Price:

$19.99 Full Price or $14.99 on sale right now at London Drugs (I paid full price).

Method:

I did what I will call a tattoo swatch test. I swatched the foundation over a tattoo on my wrist to demonstrate the foundation’s coverage. I applied the foundation in the morning and documented how well it held up throughout the day. I wanted to test just the foundation, so I didn’t use a primer, set with powder, or use any brushes/blenders (I applied with my fingers).

Participant:

Myself.  A 32 year old female on a limited budget. I have normal skin (not oily, dry, or combination).  I am very pale, but have dark spots and require a light foundation to even my skin tone.  My pores are large and I have fine lines, which is common for “older” skin.

Application:

oneCoat

This is one application of the foundation in Classic Ivory 101.  I have very light skin and this is their lightest shade. This is the amount I put all over my face. The product is build-able and I add another coat to “trouble” areas. This is a picture of two layers:

coatTwo

As you can see, two coats are needed for a medium coverage. Personally, I like this because it gives the foundation more versatility.

Results:

It did not take long for me to find that this foundation did not live up to the hype. This is the swatch 20 minutes later:

 oxidation

It oxidized really bad. To the point where when I use this foundation I get an orange face. Not pretty. It is also the lightest available shade. However, it did have staying power.  This is the foundation by the end of the day about 12 hours later:

endDay

The oxidation is less noticeable because some product came off and the picture was taken somewhere with softer light.

Qualitative Data:

I have been using and hating this foundation for about a month now. First, it is a matte, not demi-matte finish. In fact, I found it to be quite drying (I have normal skin, not oily or dry).  I also have a problem with large pore and I found that the product would get into my pores and plug them, which doesn’t look good and can’t be good for my skin.  The white spot in the circled area is a pore that is filled with foundation (I apologize for the poor resolution):

pores

When I use this foundation with a primer, I tend to have better results.  I can use a primer to counter the dryness and minimizes pores.  I also use a finishing powder, which prolongs the wear, especially under the eyes.

The Verdict:

I do not recommend this product.  However, I have read that oxidation varies between people, so oxidation may not be a problem for everyone.  I have a lot of trouble with foundations oxidizing on me, so it might be an issue with my body chemistry.  If you do want to try this foundation, I recommend that you apply some of the product on your wrist from the tester, do some shopping, and if in 20 minutes it still looks fine, then buy the product.  This foundation probably also works better for people with oilier skin.  If you have normal to dry skin, you might find that it is too drying.  If you have pale skin, you might also want to skip this product.

As much as I tried to objectively test this product, make-up results will vary from person to person.  Thus, if it works for you, great.  If you have tried this product, please comment below and tell me how it worked for you.  Please include information about your skin type, how old you are (younger skin is more forgiving), and what shade you are.  The more data that we can collect, the more informed other readers will be when deciding whether to purchase this product.

